A New Leadership Team

The 10 week contest has come to an end, and Parliamentarians, Members and Members of our affliated organisations elected Jim Murphy MP and Kez Dugdale MSP as our new leadership team, with 55.77% and 62.89% of the vote respectively.

Following the result, Jim Murphy outlined his vision to make Scotland the "fairest nation on earth", and reaffirmed his driving purpose "to end poverty and inequality".

Our new leadership team subsequently announced a new Shadow Cabinet, including Glasgow MSPs being given Junior Ministerial roles: Drew Smith MSP as the PPS to Jim Murphy as Leader of the Scottish Labour Party, and Anne McTaggart MSP being appointed as shadow Europe and International Development Minister.